Succulent Pirates & 5000 Words.

Word Count: 5094

Yesterday, as predicted, was absolutely rammed at work. We ended up running late because we needed to set up for todays’ Christmas products launch and the staff meeting. This morning I had to catch up with life stuff and I got writing after lunch. So I haven’t been writing for as long as I’d liked to, but having said that I’ve reached 5000 words!!! I am 10% of the way through my novel. Now that all the grown up stuff has been done, I’m trying to write as much as I can for the next two days (I only have a four hour shift tomorrow) and I’m hoping to double this, so hopefully before tomorrow night I’ll have 10k words. A huuuuge feat BUT that will put me at amazing advantage for the rest of writing it. I’ll be in full swing and the momentum will keep up hopefully. With Christmas coming at work, parents visiting, a trip back to Falmouth and a university postgrad open day, I’m going to be pushed for time. I’d rather get as much done as possible now so that when life gets in the way I’m that much closer to being finished. I’m really pushing myself now, it took a lot of dedication to break myself out of my writing funk that I talked about yesterday.

Also I found out yesterday that on the run up to Christmas I can wear Christmas clothes to work, which is exciting. Do you think I could go in as a dinosaur and tell everyone I’m the Christmassaurus? I don’t think anyone there will get the reference – none of them have children/are Fletcher Family Super Fans (unlike me. There is no denying it anymore).

In other news, I bought a succulent last week for my new desk, and I noticed today that someone has cut off one of the leaves – you can tell it’s cut because the stumpy bit is still there so it didn’t just fall off. I’m presuming the person who did this didn’t do it accidentally and in fact did it to stick it in some soil and grow their own succulent for free, but only because I like the idea that someone pirate copied my plant (I think I read a similar story in a tumblr post).

Anyway, my precious time is slipping away from me and I have a helluver lot of words to get down on paper. I’m handwriting too (I don’t know if I mentioned that previously) so it takes me a bit longer than typing – the quality of my first draft is just so much better that way. Also I can take it anywhere and just whip out my notebook as and when. No battery power to worry about if inspiration should strike. That comes later when I’m typing and redrafting. Then I run out of battery on the way to a place and forget my charger and have a little rant at myself for being disorganised and having to go home with a take out coffee and wasted time.

Don’t tread on the flowers.

F x

Leave a comment