A Bit of Light Philosophy.

I just found out why we call the main character a protagonist.

I was pontificating as Dan was playing Fallout 4, reading my book (Sohpie’s World – Jostein Gaarder. I found it in the book swap and work and got really into it), when the narrator started talking about philosophers who called themselves the Sophists, basically a wise, informed person (like me obviously). One in particular was called Protagoras (protagonist – basically) and he said “Man is the centre of all things” popular philosopher quote that people repeat out of context all the time.  He also said, to quote the book directly:

“By [‘Man is the centre of all things’] he meant that the question of whether a thing is right or wrong, good or bad, must always be considered in relation to a person’s needs.” [p.54]

Hence literally everything I’ve every read about how to build a character. We relate to the protagonists actions depending on whether we believe what they are doing is right or wrong depending on their needs. Is it right for John Wick to go around killing a shit ton of Eastern European gangsters, in order to track down Alfie Allen? Absolutely not, but Alfie Allen killed his beagle puppy so we get behind it and root for John Wick as he kills a shit ton of gangsters.

I just thought it was interesting that the original protagonist was a real person. I’ve never really thought about it before, but it makes so much sense. Obviously in order to put it in my essay I need to do loads more research (God, Frosh, change the record already). But there you go.

I haven’t really got any more writing done so I think I’m going to try and fit a few pages in before Twin Peaks (at 2am, don’t tell my mum she’ll reprimand me for staying up past my bedtime). Apparently it’s going to be a really good episode tonight. No spoilers though folks.

Don’t tread on the flowers,

F x

Salvator_Rosa_-_Démocrite_et_Protagoras

Démocrite et Protagoras by Salvator Rosa.

Leave a Reply

